Playing GOAT at high resolution - Korean monitors?

Here you can chat about anything you like.
Post Reply
User avatar
david
'Ghost of a Tale' Community Manager
'Ghost of a Tale' Community Manager
Posts: 370
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 4:07 am
Contact:

evilkinggumby wrote:I try not to subscribe to the more modern American consumerist notion of disposable electronics.
In the normal course of things, I'd agree wholeheartedly with you... but with me moving about so much these days, I need equipment that's either mobile or cheap enough to be disposable. Borneo... mmm... tempting 8-)

Image
User avatar
evilkinggumby
Original backer
Original backer
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 8:13 am

david wrote:
evilkinggumby wrote:I try not to subscribe to the more modern American consumerist notion of disposable electronics.
In the normal course of things, I'd agree wholeheartedly with you... but with me moving about so much these days, I need equipment that's either mobile or cheap enough to be disposable.
Oh I totally agree. I can only speak for myself and of course my situation is far different than yours. I would never impose a need for you to have the exact same type of stuff I have, it'd be silly. And you likely would want better stuff hehehe
Image
User avatar
evilkinggumby
Original backer
Original backer
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 8:13 am

totally had to let Kwisatz know that I reccomended those korean monitors to a friend that does professional graphic design at home and he bought 2. I'll likely get to see em in action next time i visit him, but hopefully they deliver and work as good as they say in the sites. for him, it'll be a REALLY great upgrade from his 22" and 24" monitors.
Image
User avatar
david
'Ghost of a Tale' Community Manager
'Ghost of a Tale' Community Manager
Posts: 370
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 4:07 am
Contact:

@EvilKing... excellent stuff, let us know how they look... I'm kind of drooling a bit at the thought of that decent size, high-resolution and those intense colors. Dammit, but I also love having my PC use an entire wall, with a projector. Decisions, decisions... first world problems... :lol:
User avatar
evilkinggumby
Original backer
Original backer
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 8:13 am

Well my friend got the 2 monitors and ran into some issues, but he did get it so he can at least use 1 of them.

turns out his radeon 6900 series has 2 dvi-d ports but one is a single link and the other is a dual link, so it can't run both monitors (these require dual to work).

but here is a goofy shot he did to shot the difference. old 24" is on the left, new on the right. I don't think he's even used his calibrator on it to get proper color yet, but it gives you an idea of the design and stuff.

Oh and he also loves the detail/quality/colors on it.

Image

So if you still are considering this, make sure you have a card with DVI out and that it is dual link or you can't use this without getting additional adapters to work off the hdmi on the card. :)

**also note: most graphics cards with an HDMI out won't output the full 1440p resolution to the monitor at 120hz or even 60hz due to limitations in hdmi 1.4 if you do use a hdmi to DVI adapter.

Oh and all documentation that comes with it is in Korean, so if you need to read the book for anything, learn Korean. It means locating proper drivers won't be easy...
Image
User avatar
KwisatzHaderach
Original backer
Original backer
Posts: 113
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 5:45 am

Sorry I missed your latest posts. Even more sorry to hear of the trouble your friend ran into! I hope he finds a way to have it work out via adapters. The design of these monitors isn't really their strong suit and the brightness seems to be a little too much on the photo, but I'm glad he is enjoying the vibrant colours and that he can finally see his right elbow (assuming that is him on the wallpaper :mrgreen: ).
At least he doesn't seem to have any issues with back light bleeding, which isn't uncommon with these monitors. If he has, feel free to give him my contact info (he is a registered member of GoaT, RIGHT?!) and I'd be glad to help him fix it.

I don't get the part about HDMI not outputting the full res. I mean, it states clearly on the PLS monitor forums that the monitor won't work with HDMI, but I always thought HDMI had much higher bandwith than DVI...

데이빗, 한국 모니터를 구매해야합니다!

;)
User avatar
evilkinggumby
Original backer
Original backer
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 8:13 am

KwisatzHaderach wrote:I don't get the part about HDMI not outputting the full res. I mean, it states clearly on the PLS monitor forums that the monitor won't work with HDMI, but I always thought HDMI had much higher bandwith than DVI...
It depends. I was looking at some posts where someone bought this exact monitors as a match pair and was trying to hook them to their card like my friend si doing, and had the same exact issue. One person suggested getting an hdmi adapter but then folks replied that it might not help. I guess a lot of video cards only have the hdmi 1.4 series port, which only outputs a maximum of about 250hz max, and to do 1440p at 60fps you need about 300hz. I guess for going really high refrresh DVI is the better way to go, but I haven't tested it myself at all.

He has still to calibrate it, and it is brighter but since that is just a simple picture the screens look brighter than they actually do IRL. He hasn't mentioned any kind of backlight bleed but if he starts to notice it I can refer him to your expertise. :) He is not on the forums, though he knows about this game. Cause everyone I know is aware of this game. cause I talk about it way too much lol
Image
User avatar
david
'Ghost of a Tale' Community Manager
'Ghost of a Tale' Community Manager
Posts: 370
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 4:07 am
Contact:

hey, just to say there is a Monitor Mania event on right now at NewEgg.com... I haven't looked at the details, but there seem to be some good deals there.

They don't deliver to Thailand, shame! :ugeek:
User avatar
evilkinggumby
Original backer
Original backer
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 8:13 am

haha they've run some really nice deals lately. I've been slowly upgrading parts in anticipation for building

THE ULTIMATE GHOST OF A TALE COMPUTER

so I'm appreciating what they're offering so far. Don't need a monitor myself, *knock on wood*, but I can say I love that site and they're usually really great for packing and shipping proper, effective and timely.

I just got the power supply i ordered while I was away in California. It came in a big ol plastic toolbox looking thing (complete with tray insire for small parts). I was totally amused as usually when I buy the power supply it's just a regular cardboard box with the PSU and wires and little else.. this thing is a monster.. though it is a hefty one (800 watts) and total overkill.. but I snagged the sale so why not. Plus I need to mail in a rebate for it too..
Image
User avatar
david
'Ghost of a Tale' Community Manager
'Ghost of a Tale' Community Manager
Posts: 370
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 4:07 am
Contact:

evilkinggumby wrote:THE ULTIMATE GHOST OF A TALE COMPUTER
Yeah, agreed! I'm also thinking of buying or building something that will run GOAT effortlessly.
User avatar
evilkinggumby
Original backer
Original backer
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 8:13 am

david wrote:
evilkinggumby wrote:THE ULTIMATE GHOST OF A TALE COMPUTER
Yeah, agreed! I'm also thinking of buying or building something that will run GOAT effortlessly.
I finally got the last parts yesterday so likely later today/tonight I'll migrate the few parts from the old pc into the new rig and put it together. I'll try and take pics just for fun. Hopefully it all works.
Image
User avatar
david
'Ghost of a Tale' Community Manager
'Ghost of a Tale' Community Manager
Posts: 370
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 4:07 am
Contact:

evilkinggumby wrote:I'll try and take pics just for fun.
excellent idea, I'm looking forward to seeing your build! :D
User avatar
evilkinggumby
Original backer
Original backer
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 8:13 am

david wrote:
evilkinggumby wrote:I'll try and take pics just for fun.
excellent idea, I'm looking forward to seeing your build! :D
Well it's mostly together. Physically I am just waiting on a second memory chip for it (stupid newegg shipped one UPS direct but the other through DHL so it went to a different state before shifting to US postal and then coming to me) so I haven't closed it up and done major work on the software. I at least got the back panel attached again, windows 7 installed (though I have the proper copy to activate incoming in the mail, my friend's copy was out of licenses) and tested it briefly on my old 24" asus 1200p monitor (can slightly see it on the left in the pic behind the case) with Skyrim running at high quality (with a bunch of mods going, though not a lot of super HD ones). And it worked out great as far as I could tell. I still need to mess with overclocking it but the base temp the cpu holds at (even while on and being somewhat used) is about 23C so I will take that as the liquid cooling working. :)

Image

Quick snapshot of the case at an angle. Sorry for the glare. You can see the corsair liquid coling over the cpu and the radiator attached to the rear case fan. 2 hard disks plus a bluray dvd drive is all it gets for now, but eventually I'll likely get my hands on a decent SSD when I find the right deal.

And of course a big ol 850 watt Power supply. in time if I wanted to get a second evga brand gtx 760 to drop in the case could easily accommodate it at 16x when SLI'd. But I have done the SLI dance before and the fact not all games properly take advantage of the architecture makes me leery of trying it anytime soon. For now the new card should be ok, it has 4gb DDR5 on it and running Skyrim was silky smooth (didn't have fraps going so not sure of framerate) even with weather effects and multiple NPC's and light sources going. I was in Windhelm so I headed to the water and even there it ran fine will all the reflecting and detail. so.. WOO. I think i'll be ok for GoaT lol

(more pics later when it is actually done)
Image
User avatar
david
'Ghost of a Tale' Community Manager
'Ghost of a Tale' Community Manager
Posts: 370
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 4:07 am
Contact:

@EvilKing... nice x-ray view... lots of lovely horsepower. I think you'll be ok for GOAT.

Man... I love technology (when it all works) :ugeek:
Image
User avatar
evilkinggumby
Original backer
Original backer
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 8:13 am

Ok couple other pics. Front and Back. The side panel is nuttin to look at just black metal with some grille holes, so I won't bother posting that. :)

Image

Image

Messed with it this weekend playing Elder Scrolls Online a bit and it handled that just fine. :) Also used the smart overclock stuff that came with the motherboard to tweak it slightly for now (tweaked it from 4ghz to 4.35 or something) which is decent, but the chip already has a "range" of 4-4.2 clockspeed anyhow so that's not a huge boost. heheheh...

I still have a lot of software to set up but at least got some of the protective stuff in place. Also went and flagged a mess of games on steam to try that I was holding on.

Now.. when do we get to see David pull the trigger and get himself a proper monitor/projector?
Image
User avatar
david
'Ghost of a Tale' Community Manager
'Ghost of a Tale' Community Manager
Posts: 370
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 4:07 am
Contact:

@EvilKing... being a technology lover, I'm drooling a bit as I look at your shiny new system :geek:
evilkinggumby wrote:when do we get to see David pull the trigger and get himself a proper monitor/projector?
Aha! I have a new solution for this: I'll post a photo soon! ;)
User avatar
evilkinggumby
Original backer
Original backer
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 8:13 am

It is running like a champ so far. I also re-purposed the stock heatsink/fan from the new cpu onto my old cpu (as that one's fan was dying) so now the old computer runs quieter and cooler than before. woo.

I've tested it with a number of games and so far the only issue I have seen is screen tearing (even with vsync on) in pre-rendered cinematic cut scenes. In researching, it seems to be a common issue with high end cards, and it doesn't seem to do it during gameplay (turned on triple buffering in tomb raider to help with it) so I'm not too worried. I'm using the system on a 120hz tv so it really SHOULD be able to handle it but I may need to tweak the tv settings (as I may have it configured wrong).

Otherwise, it runs like a champ. I also snagged a cheap but solid 120gb single layer SSD drive for more hardcore gaming and pluggin that into a dock/port on the top of the case. Since it's only a 2.5" drive it fits in there nicely and being in open air, stays nice and cool.
Image
User avatar
david
'Ghost of a Tale' Community Manager
'Ghost of a Tale' Community Manager
Posts: 370
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 4:07 am
Contact:

@EvilKing... It doesn't compare at all with your water-cooled behemoth, but here's my current setup: I use a wireless keyboard and mouse with the Sony Bravia (comes with my rented room in Bangkok) as my monitor... it functions well enough for work and light gaming. These days, I'm playing my recent Steam-sale purchases: Assassin's Creed 3 and Ace Combat: Assault Horizon (both fun so far!)

Image

However my laptop is totally underpowered to run GOAT, so I really do need to upgrade :ugeek:
User avatar
evilkinggumby
Original backer
Original backer
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 8:13 am

ha thats a pretty solid set up. I like it. :) I have done that in hotels too, and really.. it doesn't require buying much of anything (maybe the HDMI?) so kudos to you. :) Now you can save and use the set aside money later to get what you really want.

Currently my rig is working out ok. I changed it up a bit and stopped using a VGA wire to my tv and instead have it direct connected with a decent HDMI. It end sup having a lot better clarity, brighter, richer colors, and better overall performance. I never expected a VGA wire would lose so much over a fairly short distance.. but there ya go. :)

I think my friend is still using the Korean monitors he got, though I don't think he ever invested in a different graphics card that can run both at the same time. So he is using one with his old 24" monitor and keep the extra for emergencies or something? not sure. But it has held up nice.
Image
User avatar
david
'Ghost of a Tale' Community Manager
'Ghost of a Tale' Community Manager
Posts: 370
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 4:07 am
Contact:

evilkinggumby wrote:Now you can save and use the set aside money later to get what you really want.

Exactly!

Yeah, I'm getting good results from HDMI, and I've made a mental note of your experience with VGA for when I upgrade... and though I like using the TV at the moment, when I upgrade I'll absolutely also be considering those Korean monitors and budget projectors ;)
Post Reply